DRIVING SAFETY COURSE OR MOTORCYCLE OPERATOR SAFETY COURSE

Under the laws of the State of Texas, you may be able to request that (one) charge be dismissed by taking a driving safety course. However, you must provide written notice of your intent to the Court on or before the appearance date as shown on your citation.

YOU MUST MEET THE FOLLOWING REQUIREMENTS: (moving violations only)

- 1. You enter a plea of guilty or no contest and pay the court costs of \$112.00 (\$137.00 in school zone).
- 2. You have not completed a course for dismissal of a citation within the past 12 months.
- 3. Your alleged speed was less than 95mph and no more than 24mph over the posted speed limit.
- 4. You provide a valid Texas Driver's License or Active Military ID.
- 5. You provide proof of insurance (You must be listed on a policy).
- 6. You DO NOT hold a Commercial Driver's License (CDL).
- 7. You can not be cited in a Construction Zone with workers present.

Once requested, you will be mailed a packet with DSC Instructions and requirements. You have a maximum of 90 days from your appearance date to complete the course and submit all requirements to the Court. DO NOT pay the listed fine below for the violation if you wish to take the course.

For Child Seat belt Offenses only, you may be granted a Seat belt Safety Course - Contact Court

SCHEDULE OF FINES EFFECTIVE MAY 1, 2017

(All Fine amounts below Include Court Costs)

SPEEDING VIOLATIONS (MPH alleged over the posted limit)	
1 through 5	\$200.00
6 through 11	225.00
12 through 17	250.00
18 through 24	
25 and up	
OTHER VIOLATIONS	
Ran Stop Sign or Signal Light, Unsafe Speed, Lane Change, Drive>90 days out of state DL.	\$200.00
Fail to: Yield ROW, Control Speed, Report Accident, Slow or Move/Emergency Vehicle	
Railroad Crossing Violations, Passing, Turn or Signal Violations, Follow too Close	
Use of Equipment Not Approved (Tint), No Slow Moving Emblem, Defective Equip	
Fail to Report Address Change, Fail to Display Driver's License	
Registration Violations (No/Expired License Plates), Fail to Display Plates (front/rear)	
Adult Seat Belt Violations.	
Allow child under 17 yrs with out Seat Belt	200.00
Child Safety Seat Violations < 8yrs, Open Bed of Truck	
Expired Driver's License, Permit Unlicensed Person to Drive	
Violate DL Restriction Code	
No Driver's License	269.00
Driving While License Invalid (DWLI)	300.00
Open Container	
Fail to Maintain Financial Responsibility (Insurance 1st Offense)	315.00
No Motorcycle Endorsement, Driving with more than one valid Driver's License	300.00
School Bus Violations (1st Offense)	605.00
Public Intoxication, Disorderly Conduct, Possession of Drug Paraphernalia	Contact Court
All Alcohol or Tobacco offenses by Minor or Any Violation not listed	Contact Court
All Construction Zone with Workers Present or School Zone Violations	Contact Court
Violate Promise to Appear	297.00
Warrant Fee per Violation	50.00
IF FINES ARE PAID BY INSTALLMENTS, AN ADDITIONAL \$25.00 FEE PER CHARGE IS REC	QUIRED BY LAW
*If the charge(s) filed against you are for the following offense(s) you may be eligible for a dism	issal.
* Expired Vehicle Registration if corrected within 20 working days with penalty fe	
* Vehicle Registration (registered but not on vehicle)	* *
* Fail to Display Front/Rear License Plate	, ·
* Expired Drivers License or Fail to Change Addressif corrected within 20 workin	
* Fail to Display Driver's License (DL)	
Tun to Display Driver's Election (BE)	, \$10.00 100

REMIT BY CASHIER'S CHECK or MONEY ORDER or CREDIT CARD ONLINE

* Driver's License Restrictions _______ if corrected by appearance date, \$10.00 fee * Defective Equipment (does not apply to commercial vehicles)...... if corrected by appearance date, \$10.00 fee

...... provide proof that insurance on vehicle was valid when citation was issued, no fee



JUDGES OF JUSTICE COURTS OF CALDWELL COUNTY, TEXAS

Matt Kiely	Homer Horne	Ben E. Brady	Raymond D. DeLeon
Precinct 1	Precinct 2	Precinct 3	Precinct 4
110 S. Brazos	505 E. Fannin	POB 145 (9675 Hwy 142)	405 E. Market St.
Lockhart, TX 78644	Luling, TX 78648	Maxwell, TX 78656	Lockhart, TX 78644
(512) 398-1810	(830) 875-5260	(512) 357-6729	(512) 398-1841
512) 398-2785 - Fax	(830) 875-6449 - Fax	(512) 357-6833 - Fax	(512) 398-1837 - Fax

PAYMENT INFORMATION: Cashier's Check or Money Order payable to Caldwell County Treasurer Or Pay with Credit Card (Visa, Mastercard, Discover, American Express) Online at www.co.caldwell.tx.us/jp to the Judge named on ticket. (No Personal Checks or Cash accepted) Return copy of citation, this letter and your remittance to assure proper credit.

- (1) If you wish to enter a plea of Guilty or Nolo Contendere, please so indicate in the proper space provided below. A plea of Nolo Contendere (No Contest) means that you do not contest the state's charge(s) against you. The fine for a Nolo Contendere plea is the same as that for a plea of Guilty. Either plea indicates you agree to waive appearance before the court for trial. You must refer to the schedule shown on the reverse side of this letter to determine the total amount of your fine(s) and costs assessed against you.
- (2) If you wish to enter a plea of Not Guilty and desire a trial, indicate in the proper space provided below.
- (3) Juveniles 16 years of age or younger must appear in court with a parent or guardian on or before their appearance date as shown on the citation or be subject to having their license suspended as required by law.
- (4) If you fail to respond to the charge(s) by the appearance date shown on the citation, an additional charge will be filed against you for Violate Promise to Appear and warrants will be issued for your arrest and you may be Denied Renewal of your Driver's License.

(5)	TELEPHONE CALLS I	DO NOT	constitute an appearance	hefore the court	LISE FORM BELOW

;	**************************************
	REPLY FORM
	Check One and Complete (Please print)

1. I hereby enter a plea of GUILTY and waive appearance for trial.	
☐ 2. I hereby enter a plea of NO CONTEST and waive appearance for trial.	
\square 3. I hereby enter a plea of NOT GUILTY and request a trial by \square Judge or \square Jury.	
□ 4. I hereby enter a plea of □ GUILTY or □ NO CONTEST and request the charge be dismissed with completion of a Driving Safety Course (DSC). I have read and meet all requirements on the reverse side of this form. Fee of \$112.00 (instead of fine amount), copy of proof of insurance, copy of valid Texas driver's license and this reply form are all enclosed.	re

Name	Signature
Mailing Address	
City	State Zip
Ticket (THP6#)	Driver's License #
Phone #	Date
☐ Fine is enclosed	30 days to pay Request Payment Plan (\$25 fee added)

REMIT BY CASHIER'S CHECK or MONEY ORDER or CREDIT CARD ONLINE



^{*} This letter is furnished as a courtesy to you by the Justice Courts of Caldwell County, Texas to assist you in making disposition of the charge(s) filed against you. Court cannot give legal advice.*